Downtown Girl

I have become completely taken with capturing night shots lately, particularly downtown in Salisbury, MD.  After a meeting tonight I headed out, dragging a fairly willing participant along to help with lighting and to watch my back. She didn’t know that she would actually BE in some of the shots but it worked out well.  I’m somewhat intimidated by the idea of taking any kind of portrait shot, so I thought this distance might be a safe one from which to comfortably shoot.  She was a good sport, and I’m happy with the way this shot in particular turned out.  I think I put a tad too much light on her with my fancy off camera lighting  flashlight, especially her knee, but all in all I like it.  What do you think?  Hints, tips from other photographers?

 

A cropped version:

6 thoughts on “Downtown Girl

  1. Love the green shining through the window with her red jacket. It’s the painter in me that immediately spots the red-green complementary colours. I think there’s a lot going on in this picture. I would like to see what it looked like cropped down to just the girl, doorway and steps.

    • Thanks for the feedback. I did play around with cropping a little but I thought it ended up looking well…too cropped? If that makes sense. I’ll play around with it again tonight and see what I can come up with. Will edit post to add. Thanks again!

What do you think?